korider.com | Hyosung Motorcycle Owners Forum

korider.com | Hyosung Motorcycle Owners Forum

  • June 23, 2017, 06:17:44 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search

News:

Welcome to Korider.com!

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 21

Author Topic: Adjusting Idle speed on EFI bike  (Read 45701 times)

Hyosung.biz

  • Scraping the pegs
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 770
    • Hyosung.biz
Re: Adjusting Idle speed on EFI bike
« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2010, 11:20:54 PM »

Do you have a bike with the Mikuni throttle bodies or the Korean throttle bodies?

Here is a picture of the Mikuni throttle bodies with the adjustment screw at the throttle cables. You can use that screw to set the idle speed. DO NOT use the screw that is on the other side attached to the throttle body linkage. If you have the new Korean throttle bodies it will most likely be very similar, although I have not seen them yet

Logged
Matt Kellerman #63
Powersports Outlet Racing
www.Hyosung.biz  www.PowersportsOutlet.com
Sponsor: PowersportsOutlet.com, Hyosung  Motors USA, Dunlop, Puig, Sprocket Specialists, EBC

Register and log in and the Ads below will be gone! :D


CodeMonkey

  • I'll pretend I wanna be here.
  • Goodbye chickenstrips!
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 419
    • My general photo blog - minus words...
Re: Adjusting Idle speed on EFI bike
« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2010, 05:10:51 AM »

Thanks for that Matt.

Is this the other side you mention?



Just to be sure, that throttle adjustment screw that you have circled in your post, is that the correct way of adjusting the idle on these efi bikes? Do I take the bike for a spin so its warm before I try and adjust the idle to 1500rpm?


Sorry about the crappy pic quality - it was borrowed from the efi service manual.

I guess I should rip the fairings off and just post some photos to confirm what throttle body I actually have.

Thanks,
Mark.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2010, 05:14:14 AM by CodeMonkey »
Logged

Hyosung.biz

  • Scraping the pegs
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 770
    • Hyosung.biz
Re: Adjusting Idle speed on EFI bike
« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2010, 06:30:20 PM »

Yes that is the other side. The screw on that side is for adjusting the balance of the throttle bodies.

You should be able to set your idle speed after just a minute or two of letting the bike run.
Logged
Matt Kellerman #63
Powersports Outlet Racing
www.Hyosung.biz  www.PowersportsOutlet.com
Sponsor: PowersportsOutlet.com, Hyosung  Motors USA, Dunlop, Puig, Sprocket Specialists, EBC

krakum1967

  • Global Moderator
  • Grinding the pipes
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1652
  • Dyslexics of the World....UNTIE!
Re: Adjusting Idle speed on EFI bike
« Reply #13 on: January 26, 2010, 06:35:03 AM »

Good Info!!
Logged
2007 United Motors V2C-650T AE

1981 Suzuki GS750EX - Rat Bastard

PaulF

  • Learner rider
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
Re: Adjusting Idle speed on EFI bike
« Reply #14 on: January 26, 2010, 10:05:41 PM »

Same problem on my 2010 EFI too! I'm derestricting it next week hopefully and adding some braded brake lines.
By the way, after 30 minutes on the road in hot weather, i can't tuck my thighs in properly anymore because the fairing gets soooo hot, do you have the same problem mate?
PS: i'll check with my dealer about the problem too so i'll keep you posted :)

Cheers
Logged

CodeMonkey

  • I'll pretend I wanna be here.
  • Goodbye chickenstrips!
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 419
    • My general photo blog - minus words...
Re: Adjusting Idle speed on EFI bike
« Reply #15 on: February 05, 2010, 02:01:09 PM »

hyosung.biz: I cannot adjust that screw at all. It won't budge. Am I supposed to loosen the little nut on that screw?

I feel stupid asking for asking such a noob question.
Logged

CodeMonkey

  • I'll pretend I wanna be here.
  • Goodbye chickenstrips!
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 419
    • My general photo blog - minus words...
Re: Adjusting Idle speed on EFI bike
« Reply #16 on: February 05, 2010, 02:43:22 PM »

BTW, this is what my TB looks like:


Also, you its a yes to my previous question (do i have to loosen the nut), then can you confirm a 8mm socket should do the trick?


Many thanks.
Logged

HyoFuelNazi

  • Grinding the pipes
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1986
Re: Adjusting Idle speed on EFI bike
« Reply #17 on: February 05, 2010, 04:08:07 PM »

Usually you need to use a ring spanner or open ender to unlock the locknut then adjust the screw whilst holding the nut then when you have the idle where you want it, nip the nut up whilst holding the screw from turning.
Logged

Hyosung.biz

  • Scraping the pegs
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 770
    • Hyosung.biz
Re: Adjusting Idle speed on EFI bike
« Reply #18 on: February 06, 2010, 07:47:28 PM »

yes, what hyowhistled said. loosen the nut. adjust the idle speed with the screw. tighten the nut.
Logged
Matt Kellerman #63
Powersports Outlet Racing
www.Hyosung.biz  www.PowersportsOutlet.com
Sponsor: PowersportsOutlet.com, Hyosung  Motors USA, Dunlop, Puig, Sprocket Specialists, EBC

CodeMonkey

  • I'll pretend I wanna be here.
  • Goodbye chickenstrips!
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 419
    • My general photo blog - minus words...
Re: Adjusting Idle speed on EFI bike
« Reply #19 on: February 11, 2010, 09:29:51 AM »

I've adjusted it after removing the fairing.

The outcome was not was I expected and I'm a little confused.

For ages each adjustment wasn't making any noticeable difference to the idle. What I did notice was that the bike's rpms would be higher and higher at the time of ignition (whatever the efi's version choke would be called) with each adjustment. But then the idle would drop off to the same low rpms as it did before.


After what assume must be a full rotation or two of the idle screw (maybe even three) now it either idles way too high, and then sometimes without warning just drops to what it was before. I took it for a test ride, sometimes when I came to a stop it would idle at 2krpms, sometimes at 1.5krpms. So I'm confused

What I'll do now is just adjust it towards what it was initially, because this isn't giving me the results I'm after.

Any thoughts?

ps: would it be easier with the tank off? It looks like there'd still be things in the way.

Thanks for all the help I've had sofar, you guys have been generous with your knowledge/experience/patience :).
Logged

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 21