• August 22, 2018, 03:06:33 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search

News:

Welcome to Korider.com!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Trouble with bike starting, believed to be issues with fuel...  (Read 5467 times)

HyoJoe

• Training Wheels
Trouble with bike starting, believed to be issues with fuel...
« on: January 13, 2011, 10:13:31 PM »

Hi all,

First off let me just say I am new to this (motorcycles/engines) and really appreciate all the help I have already received from this form just from reading previous posts.  

Now, on to my issue.  I bought my 2008 Hyosung GT250R used in January 2009, rode it very little (only about 20 miles total) through October of that year and then left it sitting until now (very stupid i now know but was due to some personal committments I had previously made).  So the bike has been sitting for about 16 months i'd say and only has 2,006 miles on it right now.  I have already changed the oil and tested and replaced the battery.  Now when i try to start the bike I just get that ruh ruh ruh ruh but the engine will not kick on.  I was able to get the engine to fire up by spraying some started fluid directly into the air filter opening (after removing tank of course) but it won't stay on very long (maybe 10-30 seconds) and is pretty much only running on the fluid I spray in so it seems to me to be a problem with not getting enough fuel to the motor.  I checked the fuel lines from the tank to the filter, filter to pump, and pump to carb, and all seem to be flowing fine with no blockages (there is a little bit of air that seems to always be in the filter portion, is this normal??)  Also, the pump seems to be pushing out fuel just fine.