• November 20, 2018, 12:51:51 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search

News:

Welcome to Korider.com!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Battery charging issue 2011 gv650 aquila classic  (Read 689 times)

Jim77

• Training Wheels
Battery charging issue 2011 gv650 aquila classic
« on: May 17, 2018, 05:11:40 AM »

Hi everyone, I'm new to the motorcycle world but I do love it!!
I have a 2011 Gv650 classic that seems to be losing battery charge, it's fine after a few hours on a trickle charger for a couple of days but then I need to charge it again or it wont start!
I have no idea about how to check or what to check, any ideas would be great, thanks in advance!!

Register and log in and the Ads below will be gone! :D

BikeBandit.com

Christianleon266

• Crown Service Technician. 80's bike enthusiast.
  • Regular rider
Re: Battery charging issue 2011 gv650 aquila classic
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2018, 11:25:26 AM »

Hello Jim.
Your Regulator/Rectifier , stator, or wiring in between has kicked the bucket. Google is your friend when searching for the location of these Items and what they look like. Essentially, Your stator generates AC power, your Regulator/ Rectifier ... well, rectifies AC to DC and then regulates that DC to around 12 - 14 volts. You will need a multimeter, basic electronic skills and know-how. If you have neither of those things you'll be wasting your time, and potentially damaging your bike if you prod the wrong things with the wrong settings.