• September 21, 2018, 01:06:59 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search

News:

Welcome to Korider.com!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Engine swap  (Read 582 times)

Funky_Munky

• Regular rider
Engine swap
« on: June 17, 2018, 10:32:31 PM »

Hi

I have a question for the guru's will a GT 650 engine fit a GV 650? I have seen it done the other way around.

I have been running a Why Go Stock chain conversion for a couple of years. However the master link on the chain let go yesterday with explosive results. Long story short the crank case is cracked in a number of places and the output shaft potentially bent.

In the UK I can only obtain a used GT 650 engine, so it looks like that is what I will have to fit.  Are there any unusual or special tools needed to fit or remove the engine? I would like to buy these in advance as to not slow down the engine swap process.......

Every day the bike is off the road is a day on the bus going to work! And I don't like the bus!

Cheers

Munky

Register and log in and the Ads below will be gone! :D

umop-ǝpisdn

• Global Moderator
  • Forum Addict
Re: Engine swap
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2018, 11:14:13 PM »

Straight swap, so long as it is EFI era to EFI era or carby to carby.

The difference between an EFI engine and carby engine is ONLY the magneto/flywheel. On the carby models there are 7 magnets for the CDI to do it's crank positioning, while on the EFI engine, there are 13.

You will also have a 6 speed gearbox instead of 5 speed.

One special took required. You will need a T20 torx socket to remove the engine mount bolts. A 12mm hex will just of do the job, but it's likely to be the same sort of price as a T20 torx.
I used to be a sensitive, new age guy, but times have changed and now I am more of a caring, understanding, ninties type.

umop-ǝpisdn

• Global Moderator
  • Forum Addict
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2018, 11:15:28 PM »