• October 22, 2018, 02:13:46 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search

News:

Welcome to Korider.com!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Help with diagnosis, soft clanging.  (Read 603 times)

JAFK

• Training Wheels
Help with diagnosis, soft clanging.
« on: July 30, 2018, 03:01:23 AM »

I just bought my 2006 GT650R used with 23,000 miles, thereís some stuff I need to do like a retune (itís running a little rich) and a new chain, although the chain isnít TERRIBLE.
Backstory this is my first bike and I am new to motorcycles but am fairly mechanically inclined.
Am willing to do some stuff myself but I lack a lot of tools so Iím mostly trying to get a good idea of whatís going on and if I canít work on it I will find a shop to do it.

Basically the bike will make this soft clanging sound, it closely resembles lightly tapping say your exhaust piping with a small crescent wrench.
It has that metal on metal sound, and by the pitch and all that it sounds like one of the pieces of metal making the noise is long.

Iím having a hard time correlating the noise with anything but I think i only really hear it when I am engine breaking and the bike starts to get to lower rpms,
As I said before itís running rich so the noise comes around the time the bike starts backfiring.
I was thinking these may be related because they are the closest related observations Iíve made.
When I pull in the clutch for the most part I donít hear the noise anymore so I try to stick to clutch and using the brakes. But some times even with the cluTch pulled in it will make a few soft tings.
The noise doesnít have any particular consistency, it doesnít have a hard trigger, and the noise itself isnít timed, the noises come in random speeds.