• October 23, 2018, 03:19:44 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search

News:

Welcome to Korider.com!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Newbie introduction and question regarding alternate carbs for GV250  (Read 200 times)

Airman

• 2005 GV250 survivor
  • Training Wheels

Hey all, I'm a newbie to the board due to my recent purchase of a GV250. The great Google matchmaker led me to Korider and I'm hoping to contribute as much as I borrow. Except for a brief love affair with a Yamaha 850SEL back in the 80's I've ridden dirt since I  could walk, and do most of my own maintenance. That said, this 2005 GV250 was sitting outside covered for couple years before i found it. I started by removing all the rust from the tank, changed the oil / filter, new fuel pump, new fuel lines, new battery, disassembled and cleaned the petcock and fuel sending unit. Then i got into the carbs. after a long soaking (in white vinegar) and through cleaning I reassembled. I also pressure tested the intake boots to confirm no leaks and removed the exhaust and blew it out to be sure it was clear. She started right away and idles but something isn't right . Got on for a test run and she struggled up a 15 degree driveway... I've since discovered  the carbs (Minkuni BDS 26) is supposed to have an acorn nut in each, one has acorn nut and the other has a silver cap with a hole in it...if your following me you know that means the needle is coming into the hole. Admittedly I thought that was strange when I was cleaning but my 1st time inside this carb. I also notice the air screw caps have been removed and one side is in noticeably further than the other.  Looking around for parts rebuild is an option, I also see a new set of carbs is $600.  I'd prefer to buy new carbs but before i do i'd like to know what other brand / model bikes use the same carbs? ...I hate long posts but newbie intro and all...